top of page
  • TheGreenvilleBlog

ACEC-SC honors Secretary of Transportation with Service to the Profession award

The American Council of Engineering Companies of South Carolina (ACEC-SC) presented its Service to the Profession award to Secretary of Transportation Christy Hall, chief executive of SCDOT, at its 25th annual meeting and trade show on December 14.

“ACEC-SC gives the Service to the Profession Award to an engineer, an employee of a member firm, a respected leader inside or outside the engineering community, or someone whose actions have heavily impacted the engineering community. This year’s recipient checks all of those boxes,” said Dr. Jeff Mulliken, ACEC-SC’s board president and transportation chair.

During her time at SCDOT, Hall has held numerous leadership positions, including finance, engineering, interim secretary and now secretary. As SCDOT’s chief executive, she is responsible for the fourth-largest state-owned highway system. She directs the agency’s planning, maintenance, construction, and operation efforts while also advocating for SCDOT before the state legislature.

“I’m honored to receive the Service to the Profession Award. While my name is on this award, it represents the collective work of all of the dedicated professionals at the South Carolina Department of Transportation and our partners in the industry,” Hall said. “I’m proud to serve alongside them and to continue the great work we are doing together for the people of South Carolina.”

The Service to the Profession award is not given every year, but is presented by ACEC-SC in honor of those who make a significant contribution to the field of engineering in South Carolina. Previous winners include the late Senator Hugh Leatherman and current Senate President Thomas Alexander.

ACEC-SC’s mission is to advocate, advance and protect the business interests of engineering firms and standards of the engineering profession in South Carolina. For more information, visit

1 view0 comments


bottom of page